Living With Anxiety Is Hard, But There Are Coping Mechanisms | Comment Is Free | Theguardian.com

As well as an overwhelming sense of dread, a physical weight is on your shoulders — as if something terrible is going to happen. But my colleagues never seemed to know anything was wrong. If I couldn’t concentrate, or felt like I couldn’t get through a live shot I would sometimes say, “Ugh, I don’t feel good. I didn’t sleep well last night.” It was all very believable. Once, I was anchoring a live environment show on CNN on a weekend morning. When I started to read the headlines, I was hyperventilating and couldn’t make a sound. People at home were seeing video of what I was supposed to be talking about. I reached down, took a drink of water and told the producer I was just choking for a second. The hour show went off without a hitch from there on. I have flown nearly a million miles on Delta Airlines alone, and on nearly every flight I worried about a panic attack, and on a few of them, suffered through the full-blown thing. One time a flight attendant walked down the aisle and asked me if I needed oxygen.
More: Opinion: Ex-CNN reporter: My struggle with panic attacks – CNN.com

What she sees in a now viral home surveillance video of a dog attacking a young boy makes her skin crawl. Updated: Monday, May 19 2014 6:23 PM EDT2014-05-19 22:23:15 GMT Drop by Peachtree Presbyterian on Sunday morning, and you’re going to see a typical church: the choir, the congregation, and Senior Pastor Victor Pentz up in the pulpit. But drop by The Gym here, and you’ll see the same pastor, sweating it out in a workout class. Drop by Peachtree Presbyterian on Sunday morning, and you’re going to see a typical church: the choir, the congregation, and Senior Pastor Victor Pentz up in the pulpit. But drop by The Gym here, and you’ll see the same pastor, sweating it out in a workout class. Updated: Friday, May 16 2014 3:29 PM EDT2014-05-16 19:29:02 GMT Beverly Johnson hit 40, and found running thanks to a group called, “Black Girls Run.””And when I came out, I was hooked.”, said the North Carolina native That was a year and a half ago. Beverly Johnson hit 40, and found running thanks to a group called, “Black Girls Run.””And when I came out, I was hooked.”, said the North Carolina native That was a year and a half ago. Updated: Wednesday, May 14 2014 4:55 PM EDT2014-05-14 20:55:17 GMT It is a major task: find and alert about 500 United States airline travelers from 34 different states they may have been exposed to a deadly new respiratory virus coming out of the Middle East, known as MERS. It is a major task: find and alert about 500 United States airline travelers from 34 different states they may have been exposed to a deadly new respiratory virus coming out of the Middle East, known as MERS.
Full story: Helping pregnant women cope with anxiety – FOX 13 News

In addition to panic attacks, a person with panic disorder also endures ongoing worry and fear of having additional panic attacks. This anxiety can lead to avoidance of panic-inducing situations. What are the symptoms of panic disorder? The most significant symptoms of this disorder are the symptoms of panic attack – and the fear of those attacks. Panic attack symptoms are similar to our body’s normal responses to dangers and threats, like increased heart rate, sweating, or shortness of breath. But in panic attacks, there is no actual threat to justify the response. Learn more about common panic attack symptoms . What are the causes and risk factors of panic disorder? A cause of panic disorder has not been conclusively proven, though genetics may affect your risk. Women and those in their 20s or 30s may be at higher risk, but panic disorder can happen to anyone at any age and can come out of nowhere or following a traumatic or stressful life event. How is panic disorder diagnosed? If you’re worried that you might have panic disorder, talk to your doctor about the symptoms you’ve experienced.
Source – Panic disorder – Mental Health – C-Health

Usually, I’m trapped. You can’t abandon a group of friends without a word, or run out of the supermarket. So, you try to act as if everything is normal while you feel sick. You’re in a state of panic and, in the worst cases, you have the deep suspicion you are about to die. At the height of my illness because that is what it is I had anxiety attacks from the moment I woke up until I could finally sleep. There was no break. No relief . I was incapable of doing anything other than survive, and hope for a better future that didn’t include being sectioned. It’s not so bad now. I can go for days, even weeks, without an attack. Of course, the fear of having one always lingers beneath the surface, and worry is my constant companion. It affects everything, and makes my life rather difficult. Going to the cinema?
More: Living with anxiety is hard, but there are coping mechanisms | Comment is free | theguardian.com

Leave a Reply

